Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Sudden Uintended Acceleration?

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2011, 12:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Unhappy Sudden Uintended Acceleration?

Hey, is everybody!? I'm new to this Jeep World. I recently purchased A Grand Cherokee Lauredo 2005. I'm happy I found a forum with people who share the same interest on this vehicle. I do have a concern though, maybe someone could some light on it. I have about 2 weeks with my vehicle. In the last week while backing up either to do a broken u turn or to back up into a parking my vehicle has been acting funny. Sometimes while in th process of shifting from drive to reverse the jeep has jumped back, once the engine was revving and the last time the vehicle shot back about three empty parking spaces almost hitting the nearest parked car to me and my foot were on the brakes when this happened. I immeadeatly took it to the Dealer and they said they have never heard of a jeep vehicle lunging in Reverse while the foot was on the brakes. They checked out the vehicle and said there was nothing wrong with it no check engine lights or anything else so they dismissed it.

At this point I still love my vehicle but I feel unsafe driving it, so Im rather dissapointed. This prompted me to do research on the net and what I found was jaw dropping. Sudden Unintentional acceleration is more common than I thought. Especially in a Jeep Vehicle! It killed a person in a carwash and has made people drive off bridges.I was discouraged to find out how Jeep Vehicles have bad reviews from people even though it's a well known company that has been around for a while and the streets are flooded with these vehicles. I asked myself if I had made the wrong choice, I wanted a reliable vehicle.