Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

New to Jeep - Help on which fix should come 1st

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2014, 08:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default New to Jeep - Help on which fix should come 1st

Hi,
I'm new to Jeep. I bought a used 1999 GC Limited 4.7L V8 from my buddy who ran it hard & put it away wet. I've had it for 7 months.

The vehicle background - Original owner bought it in Colorado. My buddy bought it in CA and moved it to Hawaii, then back to CA where I bought it. I just moved it to FL.

Lots of issues…

So, had check engine light on. My mechanic back home checked it before moving to FL and stated the ECU wants 4 o2 sensors but the car is federal and has only two. So, ECU throwing o2 sensor codes. No issue driving it though, just the idiot light.

Current actual issue - Car wouldn't start after driving it to a Jeep repair shop here in Orlando. It was strange and never happened before. They looked at it, found no issues. (although they sure acted put out to have to take a look, I was there for a different fix). It started fine, driving home… it stalled out, died on a toll road. Gauges all went to 0. I tried starting it, no problem, got right back on the road and made it home. - After forum scavenging I bought a Mopar CPS sensor. I've not put it in yet… It rains here a TON! Had to fix the leaking sunroof first…

Also, no cold A/C - This is a different issue for a later time. A must here in FL though.

Ok, so I'm ready to put in the CPS sensor… I started thinking…

Should I replace the ECU first?
As in the ECU for a two o2 sensor setup versus the CA required 4