Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Multiple misfires, stalling issues

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2017, 01:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Multiple misfires, stalling issues

So I've had this 97 Grand Cherokee Laredo for about six months now. I'm self taught in maintenance of every vehicle I've owned either with a Haynes manual, forums, or both; however these don't always help with everything and it's sometimes best to get specific help. My issues began a couple months ago when my jeep started acting up seemingly out of nowhere. Rough idle, often stalling, and loss of oil pressure (according to the gauge) after decelerating from highway speeds. I put it on the OBD and it gave multiple misfire codes, a oxygen sensor code, among others. Grasping for solutions I started small and worked my way up. I replaced the spark plugs and did another oil change(wasn't scheduled for another 2k mi.) and replaced the pcv valve and hoses, which lessened the symptoms but they still remained. I then replaced the crankshaft position sensor as I was under the impression it may be originating from a timing issue; same result, lessened the symptoms but they still persisted. Still showing multiple misfires I considered changing the camshaft position sensor but decided to spend some more and replaced the coil rail (not cheap by my book but not breaking the bank). I was pleased to find that all symptoms and codes went away and thought maybe I had it in the bag. About a week and a half later the rough idle returned followed by stalling at idle here and there. Put it back on the code reader and it only showed one code for multiple misfires but no specific cylinder whereas before there was a slew of codes showing each cylinder that was misfiring. Throughout this timeframe I've noticed an increased burning of coolant (about a quart every two w