Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

95 GC stalling....

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2016, 04:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 95
Engine: V8
Default 95 GC stalling....

Recently bought a 95 GC V8 and I can't seem to shake my stalling issues. I am new to Jeeps and this forum, so any input would be appreciated. Stay with me and I will explain everything in the order it happened.
Ran good and solid for the first few weeks, then one day my girl gets home and says she won't drive it because it stalled twice in a parking lot. Restarted right away for her but freaked her out. So I start driving it and the problems get more persistent. Stalls at idle, and hesitates at acceleration. Hits the point when accelerating and getting to around 45mph, it loses power (as if someone grabbed it by the throat and cut off its air). When this would happen, I basically had no control over the accelerator and the Jeep would shutter, lose power and then stall. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS OR CODES TO THIS POINT. I am no mechanic by any means, but a buddy (who knows way more than me) and I do a little researching and decide to put a new crank sensor in. (what a pain in the butt) With the new crank sensor in we fire it up and it runs TERRIBLE. Shakes and acts like its misfiring and won't hardly run. Frustrated at this point, I break down and take it to the dealer. $1000 dollars later I get the Jeep back from the dealer with the info that when putting in the crank sensor, we apparently damaged pins in the wiring harness which had to be repaired. Was assured the harness repair, along with a new FACTORY crank sensor, solved my stalling problems.