Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

93 spongy brake nightmare

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2015, 02:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 93 spongy brake nightmare

I'm a Jeep newbie be gentle - bought 93 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 for my son as a fixer. Last brake job I did was in the 80's on an early 80's car NOT ABS.

When I purchased this Jeep the front bakes felt like they were tight, they were even smoking. So here's what I've done

- Replaced front calipers and pads. Had the rotors turned
- Replaced rear brake cylinders, shoes, springs, auto adjust - did not turn the drums cause there was no pitting or grooves.

Bleed the brakes starting with passenger rear, driver rear, passenger front then drivers front. Had my son pump the brakes and resulted in apparently micro bubbles cause it was milky white. Let set a day and re-bleed in same order this time NO pumping NO milky fluid. Brakes go to the floor when engine on. Re-bleed again and again and again and again....still going to the floor.

REMIND YOU THE BRAKES WERE NOT SPONGY BEFORE I DID THE BRAKE JOB.

After bleeding so much (keeping the reservoir capped off) when I turned the engine on it would build up stopping power AFTER I pumped the brakes several times.

So - took a brake spoon and adjusted the rear brake shoes as far out as they would adjust. Bleed them again. Brakes were firmer so I thought "success" until I cranked the engine - TO THE FLOOR

I will say in the forums I've researched there is a common denominator, replacing front calipers and spongy brakes.

One more thing - I have the original service manual and in the replacing caliper section it mentions using a DBR-II to bleed ABS. I do not have a DRB-II. I'm trying to exhaust all ave before taking (hauling it) to a dealership that has the DRB-II.