Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

60A alternator fuse causing battery drain?

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2015, 10:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1993
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L V6
Default 60A alternator fuse causing battery drain?

I've done research after research on this battery draining issue that seems to be pretty common in all GC. I read about the #7 fuse, the BCM and all the other common issues including all 5 door switches but my dome light isn't staying on. Here's what I own and here's what I found so far. I just bought it for $2000 with 72,000 original miles and I'm fairly new to Jeeps. It's a 94 Grand Cherokee Laredo with the 4.0 straight 6. Just bought a brand new battery bc the other one was toast. I'm getting over 5 amps of draw when I put a multimeter in between the negative cable and battery. I pulled the very first fuse under the hood and it's a 60A for the alternator. Walla! It dropped the amps to .7 instantly. There isn't much info on where to go from here and I don't wanna go buy a new alternator just for the hell of it. Could it be a bad diode and is there a way to test it? I also noticed the fuse is harder than usual to pull out bc one of the female ends on the fuse box is twisted. The motor does run off just the alternator. Is it possible that it will still run my motor with a short or a bad diode? Any help or info is much appreciated. Thank you!
Old 07-01-2015, 09:44 PM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L