Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

1996 ZJ 4.0 Auto transmission issue

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2016, 07:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 1996 ZJ 4.0 Auto transmission issue

Hi guys,
I'm new to the world of Jeep. I've been looking around for a good 4x4 that I can use as a work horse, a daily drive, and a fun motor to get dirty when time allows.
I've settled on a Cherokee or Grand Cherokee. I like the look of both. I would prefer an XJ but I've been offered a ZJ that needs some tlc. Which is why I'm here.
I could do with some knowledge regarding the automatic transmission. Based on some Google research the earlier ZJ's had the 42RE transmission. The vehicle I'm contemplating has a hard time deciding whether it wants to be in first or second gear. No snatching or jerking however.
Some googling produced some answers, but I just wondered if anyone could confirm.
1. Input/Output sensor dirty or failed
2. Transmission Oil service required.

Another issue is the steering. The current owner reports a "delay" between turning the steering wheel and the wheels turning. I think he means there is play is the steering. He has been told by a friend that it's the steering damper. I personally believe its the steering box from previous experience with old land rovers. But i welcome suggestions.

I'm quite keen to go and check this Jeep out but I don't want to land myself in a world of hurt for my effort.

Any knowledge will be very much appreciate.

Regards,
Gaz.
Old 10-07-2016, 10:28 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1995
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L

Hi Gaz and welcome!