Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The 88 Pirate XJ - by: HawK_Racing

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2011, 07:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1988
Model: Cherokee
Engine: I6 4.0L
Post The 88 Pirate XJ - by: HawK_Racing

Well here we go, This is my build thread. I have been reading posts here for roughly a year and I just recently became a member of cherokeeforum.com. I'm pumped about this. I do believe I have been bit by the Jeep thing. In advance, I truly appreciate anyone who reads this. I hope I can help others on the problems I've experienced and I hope I can get a little help as well.

A little about me. I have been working on motorcycles my whole life. I currently own a 99 Triumph Speed triple 955i and am restoring a 82 Suzuki gs450. I am currently a sophomore at University of Evansville studying Mechanical Engineering. I sold my 1997 Honda Civic that I decked out (I'll try to find some pics) and I bought an old 1988 Jeep Cherokee Pioneer XJ as my next DD/ ongoing project. When I bought it she already had a 4.5" RC lift, brand new Magnaflow exhaust, New battery, new alternator, 31x10.50 Adventuro tires with a spare, pitted out American Racing Wheels, and Sylvania headlights.

The Bads:
I could tell it was clearly offroaded before, but it wasn't abused
Vice grips holding the oil pan on ( this worried me but it didn't leak )
Rear hatch cylinders were failing
Window seals all looked bad
The headliner had about 300 vulgar words and images on it from the guy I bought it from's friends.
The electric windows only work part of the time

It looked like a solid Jeep and had very minimal rust for an 88. I like the body style of the older Jeeps much more than the newer ones.

What it looked like when I brought it home: