Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1990 XJ Pioneer Build

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2012, 02:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default 1990 XJ Pioneer Build

Hey all,

I am still a newbie here but I'm about to be putting some work into my recently purchased 1990 Cherokee Pioneer so I figured now was a good time to start a build thread. For the uninitiated, here's my new toy:

And so on. She's bone stock inside, right down to the factory tape deck. The interior is surprisingly clean for its age, but it did have a layer of grime on it that I recently cleaned/vacuumed up. Manual windows, locks and mirrors and yeah, it's a 5-speed with the AX-15 (thank GOD, no Peugot).

So the first thing I have to contribute needs more photos to introduce:

As you can see, I'm missing two rubber strip trim pieces on the left side, as well as:

One more on the right. Hey, I don't really need those, right? And the rest are ready to fall off anyway. Better to go naked, I say. The results after a little prying and peeling:

Here you see the overall result. The leftovers:

After the brown dirt and sticky crap is scrubbed off I think that will be a good look going forward. Simple and uncluttered.

Next up: a new radiator, water pump, fan, fan blade, some hoses and a fan clutch (maybe), with lots of help from poster ck1. Will post pics once that gets going!
Old 02-19-2012, 02:37 PM
CF Veteran

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 93 2 door
Engine: 4.0

that is one clean interior. 1989 5 speed pioneer was my first car
its a little late but in response to your old thread "what would you upgrade"
I would stay away from anything that has add a leaf or lift blocks.
although, I would buy an add a leaf from rustys off road for $450 and buy full packs down the road
cheap and effective and perfect for 31's
good luck on the build
Old 02-19-2012, 04:22 PM