Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

yet another high idle renix problem...help?

Old 08-26-2010, 08:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 85,88,95,98
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 2.8&4.0
Default yet another high idle renix problem...help?

ok so im kinda new to the jeep world. i bught my first cherokee about 8 months ago (85 cherokee. gutless 2.8 typical body rust, but for $52 i couldnt pass it up. the 85 got a homade 4inch lift some 33s did great, still does dispite the anemic engine and some deathwobble issues maybe ill make a built thread for it to show what it has become. back to the point. i caught the jeep thing and decided to buy 2 more in the past month, one 95 as a parts rig and another 85 as my new off road/ sometimes dd jeep, i gave the 85 to my gf. i bought the 88 from an older gut who only used it for towing a small camper thing every now and then. he kept it in great shape, apears the he followed up on matinence and bless his heart he tried his best to patch up the rust spots (fiberglass eghhh) (wich are going to be repared better later on lol) i gave $276 for it and he almost seemed guilty for taking it all. but idc i like it, great potential. back to the story, it diddnt run, was sitting for a little over a year, needed a starter (parts rig) and the battery was shot. we towed it to my friends house whom lives in the same area, got it running (poorly) but enough to get it home (almost leagly ) it has the 4.0 aw4 everything looks mechanically fine and nothing seems to be missing. my problem therein is the renix system. ive got a terrible high idle, goes straight to 3000 when i start it up. ive read 100 time to check, clean or replace all the grounds and heva done so with surgical precision(exeration but i did my best) i replaced most of the cables even added a few extras, i changed the alternator with a new one (