WTF? Check Engine Light is ON, shows no Codes! - Jeep Cherokee Forum
Jeep Cherokee Forum


OEM XJ Cherokee Technical. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here
XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

WTF? Check Engine Light is ON, shows no Codes!

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2012, 05:43 PM   #1
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 25

View Gr85's Photo Album My Photos
Default WTF? Check Engine Light is ON, shows no Codes!

So my check engine light is on, but it shows no codes when read!!!???

2 days ago I had the codes read and it showed up as IAC and TPS... I removed the throttle body and cleaned everything then reassembled. After that the check engine light went off. So I drove it round for a bit, no light. Parked it, no light. Re-start, and there it was again the check engine light. So I immediately went to have the codes read and it came up "No Codes Found"....!!!!

Its a 99 Cherokee Sport, 4.0, 5 speed manual.

Any Ideas???
Gr85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 05:45 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
drewfunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 57

View drewfunk's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Did you reset the computer?
drewfunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 05:51 PM   #3
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 25

View Gr85's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drewfunk View Post
Did you reset the computer?
The whole time i had the throttle body off i had the battery disconnected so the computer reset itself, yes...
Gr85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 06:23 PM   #4
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 25

View Gr85's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Any ideas from anyone????
Gr85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 06:27 PM   #5
CF Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: In the middle of Minnesota!
Posts: 5,220

View tjwalker's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Have you tried a different code reader?
tjwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:00 PM   #6
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 25

View Gr85's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjwalker View Post
Have you tried a different code reader?
No, I had the same guy and same code reader at Autozone...

2 days ago the codes read for the IAC and TPS, like i said i cleaned the throttle body and everything really well, reinstalled, check engine light went out, then drove and parked, restarted and light was back on so i went back to AZ...
The same guy from 2 days ago with the same code reader and it came up "No codes found"... The autozone guy didnt even have an explanation other than "Thats wierd, ive never seen a check engine light on but have no codes.... Ive never seen a cherokee thats a 5 speed, I like it!"...
Gr85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:04 PM   #7
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 25

View Gr85's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Any ideas from anyone???
Gr85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:18 AM   #8
CF Veteran
 
mdnov's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,059

View mdnov's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gr85
Any ideas from anyone???
Did you check to see if there were "soft" or pending codes on the computer?
mdnov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:21 AM   #9
CF Veteran
 
mdnov's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,059

View mdnov's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdnov

Did you check to see if there were "soft" or pending codes on the computer?
Sometimes you have to reset those codes as well depending on the computer you use.
mdnov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:35 AM   #10
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 25

View Gr85's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Sorry guys... Any answer Ive read here has already been done...

If no codes show, or pending, than what can be making the light turn on? Is it just on for no reason...?
Gr85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:56 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 84

View Chickenfloss's Photo Album My Photos
Default

May sound stupid, but a short in the panel can cause the bulb to illuminate.
Chickenfloss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 01:53 AM   #12
CF Veteran
 
Firestorm500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4,732

View Firestorm500's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Disconnecting the battery may not have done a complete reset. The AZ guys have only a basic code reader in my experience.

You may need to go to a place that has a better, more professional OBII reader to hard reset your computer.
Firestorm500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 02:21 AM   #13
CF Veteran
 
DFlintstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nor-Cal Coast
Posts: 10,056

View DFlintstone's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I saw one post where this guy who really thought he new this **** was yelling, "touching the terminals won't do it, just disconnecting it a bit wont do it, 5 hrs minimum for "the capacitors to bleed off", 8 hrs is better" All with capitals and exclamation points. Anyway, it's one of those things that's not real tough to try.

(btw Firestorm, I caught my mistake the other day. Swapping the fuel pump really likely won't help make the starter go! Hope that didn't cause a hassle)
DFlintstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 04:35 AM   #14
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Richmond, KY
Posts: 25

View Gr85's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DFlintstone View Post
I saw one post where this guy who really thought he new this **** was yelling, "touching the terminals won't do it, just disconnecting it a bit wont do it, 5 hrs minimum for "the capacitors to bleed off", 8 hrs is better" All with capitals and exclamation points. Anyway, it's one of those things that's not real tough to try.

(btw Firestorm, I caught my mistake the other day. Swapping the fuel pump really likely won't help make the starter go! Hope that didn't cause a hassle)
I guess Ill take up to the dealership and have them use their code scanner. Has anyone ever tried the "on off thing"? Supposedly you rapidly turn the key from on to off 5 times ending in the on position and any codes will pop up on the odometer..?????? I tried it with no success, maybe i did it wrong though...
Gr85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 04:50 AM   #15
CF Veteran
 
freegdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Broward County Fl.
Posts: 47,105

View freegdr's Photo Album My Photos
Default

scroll down to middle and try that......http://go.jeep-xj.info/HowtoECUcodes.htm
freegdr is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1997 Xj Sport I seek help please clark40 MODIFIED XJ Cherokee Tech 7 08-28-2015 03:08 PM
Need Help! nts07 Cherokee Chat 1 08-27-2015 08:59 AM
Need Help! nts07 OEM Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! 0 08-26-2015 09:52 AM
idling issues Kevin Icenhour OEM XJ Cherokee Technical. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here 2 08-21-2015 08:22 PM
Cam Sensor Hard Failure CCKen OEM XJ Cherokee Technical. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here 3 08-20-2015 08:07 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description: