Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Would this fall under my warranty..?

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2013, 12:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Would this fall under my warranty..?

Hey guys, I've had a few things starting to show up in my recently purchased Jeep that I'm not a big fan of. Pretty sure the pads on the forks of the transfer case are toast, and I've been having some front end vibrations at 35 and 55 which I'm hoping are U joints or something..

In any event, I realized tonight that the dealership I bought the car from gave me a 3 month / 3000 mile warranty on the car (third party ASC warranty) I have no experience with warranties or third party warranties to know how they work but I found their website and what is covered..

I received the red 'Drivetrain "Plus" Coverage'. I notice it mentions u-joins, which is good, but I dont know if the transfer case pads would be covered under what they mention. Any ideas how I can work this to my advantage seeing as though I'm approaching my 3,000 miles? Should I just bring my car to a Jeep dealership and say "Check all of these things"? What would something like that cost me?

Anyhow, thanks for any info you can send my way!

Old 03-21-2013, 05:12 AM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1990
Engine: I6 4.0

This sheet is good for quick reference but you'll probably need to read the "Service Agreement". It's a lot of fine print but will go into better detail on what parts are covered.

For example, I worked at a Ford dealer and new vehicles had a "bumper to bumper" warranty. The bumpers weren't included in the Service Agreement but ***** for HVAC and radio were.