Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

what is this?

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2013, 10:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default what is this?

So im new to jeeps and leaf springs and I searched but I dont know what the part is even called, so its kinda hard to search for it. The precious owner said they "beefed" up the rear suspension for towing so im not sure if I should post here or modified section.

First pic is passenger side, which is about an inch lower than driver side. If you compare pics, you can see PS of the "mini-leafs"?? Is sitting lower on main leaf than driver side. First question.. what are they called, second question.. what is worn? Main leaf or that addon? Or did it just slide down and can be pushed back up? Ive looked in junkyards and online for the part, but none of the jeeps I saw had that add on leaf thing and I dont know the name of it so I had no luck searching online. Any help is greatly appreciated.

what is this?-forumrunner_20130830_111848.jpg

what is this?-forumrunner_20130830_111909.jpg

what is this?-forumrunner_20130830_112332.jpg
Old 08-30-2013, 10:29 AM
Seasoned Member

Year: 88 limited

Looks like overload springs
Old 08-30-2013, 10:32 AM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1997

Looks like a larger leaf added under the original leaf pack. It should not be bent like that. It was done incorrectly also, as it is a larger leaf under the bottom leaf of the original which is much smaller. Unless it is something I am not aware of.
Old 08-30-2013, 10:43 AM

It doesnt extend to the front, it is only on the backside if the axle, rear section of leaf pack. Dont know if the pictures are clear im doing all this from my phone.

what is this?-forumrunner_20130830_114209.jpg
Old 08-30-2013, 10:43 AM

Originally Posted by je4reyk
Thanks
Old 08-30-2013, 10:47 AM
CF Veteran