Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

This is a weird one! 94 spitting out RF!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2011, 10:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 2.5 liter
Default 94 spitting out RF!! UPDATE-PROBLEM FOUND

Here's a weird one for you. I have a Liftmaster garage door opener at home. About a month ago, my garage door remote in the Cherokee stopped working. Changed the battery, no luck. Tried touching all the solder joints on the board in the remote with a hot soldering iron thinking I maybe had a broken solder joint, no luck there either. So I just figured I'd get a new remote. $45 later and a brand new remote and it is doing the same thing. So I start to troubleshoot deeper.

I noticed this weekend that I also have a buzz in the audio of the Cherokee's radio. Even on FM stations. Hmmmmm.....in the process of checking all this, I find out that my remote actually works perfectly, as long as the Cherokee isn't running. When the Cherokee is running, not only will my remote not open or close the door but the remote in my wife's car sitting next to the Cherokee in the garage won't either.

So, obviously I have some sort of electrical problem, more than likely a busted ground somewhere, on the Cherokee that is causing the buzz in the radio and allowing the Cherokee to generate what is probably a wide spectrum RF signal that is jamming the receiver of the garage door opener.

My question is, have any of yall heard of this or had this kind of thing happen before?

In the last year I have replaced my plugs, plug wires, distributor cap and alternator. Thinking the most likely candidate was the alternator, I pulled it this weekend and swapped it with a new one but, no luck. I doubt it could be the distributor cap, not sure about the plug wires.

Any ideas? Any advice??