Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Weird blinker issue & battery temp sensor harness question

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2015, 06:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Weird blinker issue & battery temp sensor harness question

Hi Cherokeeforum,

I am new to jeeps, but not new to cars. I have two questions about a recently acquired 2001 jeep cherokee XJ that I cannot seem to solve. I joined the forum to hopefully solve these issues.

1) 2k miles on a completely rebuilt motor. I bought it knowing it had a CEL for P1492, which is the battery temp sensor. No biggie, I went and purchased a sensor and when I went to replace it... i discovered that the whole harness is missing. I have traced the engine harness to where it seems like the previous owner has just clipped it (I assume to do a wire tuck), but I do not know which wires go to what.

I searched the internet but I cannot seem to find a wiring diagram for this. Can someone let me know which two wires go into the temp sensor? I can create my own pig tail and connect it back to the engine harness.

2) Passenger side blinker under the headlight blinks really fast. The cause of this is normally a bad bulb. I found the bulb that was "out" and replaced it. The problem still remains. I swapped the two bulbs with each other, and it seems like the problem lies in the harness and not the bulb. The dual filament bulb will light up but it will not "flash."

Is this a wiring problem? a relay issue? The bulb is getting power but it just doesnt seem to want to flash.

Thanks for any advice! I am stumped and I appreciate any help I can get!
Old 01-17-2015, 08:39 AM
CF Veteran

Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 1989 Laredo
Engine: 4.0 L 6 Renix

Battery Temp?? Too new to me, beyond my tech savy.