Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Vacuum System mess & MPG?

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2011, 01:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Unhappy Vacuum System mess & MPG?

I am new to the form and the jeep world! I'm excited to learn how to work on my Cherokee. The jeep has a 4.0 straight six and is getting like 8 MPG! That is even up from the 5 MPG when I first got the jeep! I cleaned the air filter and found the connection between the censor map and the fuel throttle was broken. I have fixed that connection but there are still plenty of connections not hood up. The diagram in the books have been somewhat helpful but whoever build the jeep changed some things. There are some connections that I have no clue where they go and some parts I have no clue as well. The jeep is fuel injected but something is there might not be hooked up right. I know there are several factors fuel economy but I think the problem might be in the vacuum system or the injectors?? Here are some pics and some questions I have of what I am working with. I have some people say vacuum systems would not effect the MPG but I have had some say it could effect the MPG. Thanks for reading and for your help!

I cannot get the pics to upload, so I will attach them later.
Old 10-07-2011, 03:03 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 99

i see no pics, just to be clear...
to the issues: an easy test for a vac leak is while driving, put the air on the foot setting and then give it gas and see if the airflow changes to the defrost vents. if it does, then ya got a leak somewhere.. as far as your gas mileage, that sucks dude! i got down to 11mpg at one point because my bank 2 o2 sensor went. here is a list to start getting familiar with if you want a better running jeep and have a few bucks to throw at it: