Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Typcial 4.0L Engine failure mode??

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2009, 07:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Typcial 4.0L Engine failure mode??

Greetings,
I am a newbie here. Used the "search" and looked for FAQ etc, but can't find this info.

One of the company's work trucks --(1998 Cherokee 4.0 L) has been diagnosed with a bad engine.

History-- Truck was in daily use this past summer until the gut using it was laid off. He said it wouldn't go over 40 mph on the trip to the office. It started right up, and would easily rev to 3000+ rpm. A minute later the top was 3000 rpm, and as it warmed up the revs dropped to under 2000 then it stalled out, and wouldn't restart until it cooled for an hour or so.
I had no time to do any other diagnostic on it and so it sat. We finally had some time and drove it to the "company approved" repair facility. The trip was eventful --odometer would flicker and then the gauge readings would go crazy--fuel at 1/4 tank, then E then fuel light comes on ad off, then 1/2 tank etc. Oil pressure gause varied but generally dropped the longer it ran. Down to about 10 psi at speed.
Repair shop said it took 3 hours to cool enough to start. "Engine was toast."

Options I have a few repair options--what do you think?
1) rebuild the existing engine
2) Replace with a junkyard ewngine.

JunkYard Options
1) Local Pick and Pull ( Crazy Ray's) sells engines for $200. However, they have no way to start them, and will not allow customers to start engines. I would look for a wrecked Cherokee that had clean oil and clean valve cover, and no oil in the coolant. Anytrhing else to look for to have a better chance to get a good one? I'd also plan on replacing the bottom end bearings as a matter of routine. Anything else?