Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Stuck in cold enrichment cycle?

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2014, 09:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Stuck in cold enrichment cycle?

Just got a new XJ yesterday. Seems that everything about it is FUBAR but it was $200, so I thought I'd go for it.

As it sits right now, it's an electrical nightmare, and I'm not an electrician. There are bare wires hanging all over the place, connections unplugged that don't match up to any other plug near them.... Ugh.

It will start when it's cold, and idle rough, but not die. When it warms up a bit the idle changes to a different pattern of weird and awful, and eventually it'll die. Trying to start it again is pointless unless you have the pedal to the floor. It feels like it's flooding. Starts back up fine again when it's cooled down.

Not getting a temp reading on the gauge at all. Sensor is confirmed good out of my other jeep so I assume the info is interrupted somewhere along the way. Is there any way to bypass the cold enrichment cycle and convince it that it's running at 190 all the time? Maybe have a button/switch to engage the cold start like an electric choke?

Another weird thing it does is when I try to turn on the wipers, it starts screaming out of the passenger door. That's a totally different can of worms though.

Anyone with any ideas on the fake choke/whatever, let me know.
Old 11-02-2014, 09:47 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

The computer uses a different sensor than your dash gauge does.........
The one that the computer uses to determine how warm the engine is, is the one that is threaded into the thermostat housing on the front of the engine. It has 2 small blades or pins in the electrical connector........