Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Stock XJ: 1. Blizzard 0

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2009, 09:13 AM
CF Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Default Stock XJ: 1. Blizzard 0

Boy am I proud of my stock XJ. We had blissard considions since about 3:00pm yesterday, which are supposed to end today at 6:00pm. When I got up this morning, there were drifts of snow 3-4 feet deep and the weather advisory on the bottom of the TV said "Weather alert: Extreme weather. Travel under emergency conditions only." Sweet. Although we expect high snow falls here in Wyoming, we got pounded and the only roads cleared are the main arterials to the hospitals. Since I work in a hospital, I don't really have the option of taking a snow day, so I headed in. To be honest though, I was looking forward to the test and the verdict came in. I am truely amazed at the abilities of the XJ. As I was kicking up snow well above my roof while driving, I was shocked at the control I had while steering and braking. And man do I wish I had photos.

My question though is since I was constantly driving for miles in snow well above the undercarriage, what on the XJ's soft underbelly could have been damaged? I have full stock skids. One thing I noticed was that my brakes seemed to be very touchy. I'm having a hard time diagnosing that as the high snow really fought me while driving so I may just be noticing the force of the snow I'm pushing. My thought is that I may have gotten snow between the rotors and the pads, but wouldn't this melt under friction?

s
Old 03-30-2009, 09:24 AM
Seasoned Member

Engine: 4.0L