Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Stock Cross Bars on 2001 Cherokee XJ

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2018, 01:38 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Model: Cherokee(SJ)
Default Stock Cross Bars on 2001 Cherokee XJ

I have to admit I am an auto noob but this seems like the perfect place to get some answers.

I have a 2001 Cherokee with stock cross bars. This summer I will be doing some field work in Florida that involves me carrying around 3 kayaks on my jeep for an extended drive and then daily for a few months. I am trying to figure out if my current cross bars will work for this or if I should consider getting an aftermarket rack.

I understand that the user manual says these racks can hold about 150lbs. That should be about the weight of 3 kayaks. This also doesn't seem much smaller than what most of the Yakima and Thule cross bars are rated for. In your experience, do the cross bars hold up to this weight? I have heard about some vehicles having cheaply made cross bars, but it seems like these ones on my jeep are not too bad.

The other issue is that the fasteners holding them together have started to rust and the bars are a bit loose. It seems like the connection between the feet and the bars is starting to have some give in it, which doesn't seem good. Has anyone had good experience with replacing these screws to make the bars stable again? I would hate for the bars to break on my way down to Florida. However, it seems like you guys put a lot more weight on your vehicles without any issues...

Any advice would be appreciated. I just wanted to see if the bars I have are any good before breaking down and dropping some money on new crossbars. Thanks.
Old 02-23-2018, 03:14 PM
CF Veteran

Received 298 Likes on 253 Posts
Year: '96
Model: Cherokee

Welcome to CF.