Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

So many oil leaks and quirks, where to begin?

Old 04-29-2015, 07:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default So many oil leaks and quirks, where to begin?

Greetings!

It's been five years since my wife and I had to sell our '99 XJ, and we've missed it everyday. We finally found a replacement yesterday, a 2001 with 132k, in great running condition but a bit neglected on maintenance...lot's of leaks!

I'm not a mechanic. I'm not a mechanic. I'm not a mechanic.
I have replaced plugs and wires, cap before, even a few batterys, a hose and belt or two, flushed radiator and simple things like that. I have even replaced shocks, and installed a 3" Rubicon lift on my wife's '06 unlimited (no she no longer has it)

When we bought this XJ yesterday, we knew we had to get these things done, just about everything needs dong we think, and we thought, oh man this might be more than we can handle. But, it's been hard finding a decent one and this one runs good, is fast and has some good things about it.

The good (I guess): straight body, NO RUST! NO ACCIDENTS!
Has a new 2" Rusty lift (new shocks, coils springs, sway bar bushings (it'll get us started).
New front brakes. Back?
New #3 injector with some little fabric heat insulator (looks like a round cotton cloth tube? Cheap!).
The drive shaft was recently balanced and aligned, new U-joints, spline welded and new slip joint. Elderly man owned it, said it shook a bit since the day he bough it. Said his mechanic wanted to correct it, so he let him; it worked!
It has a new windshield!
Has a roof rack w cage and tire mount.
New radio (radio sucks though).
The AC blows cold, BUT...! More about this below...
Radiator was flushed and new coolant added.