Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Rule of thumb . . .

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2011, 04:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Rule of thumb . . .

Hello

First of all yes I have searched and haven't found the answer I'm looking for . . . .

I'm a newb to the Jeep world (and the 4x4 world sort of) but do have worked on cars plenty . . .

I just got my first Jeep (a 2000 Classic in Beautiful Shape) I've found out (thanks to forum ) that I have a low pinion axle that can cause vibration issues with significant lift . . .

So . . Is there any basic rule as to how much lift this axle can take without causing issues? . . I'm not looking for anything to crazy at this point just something to give me a little more clearance/flex so I can get my feet muddy. Feel free to even sugjest a brand. As I know Jacksh** about jeeps/lifts The jeep needs new tires anyway so I figure I might as well do the lift now and get larger tires while I'm at it . . .

Thanks for any Help/in-put and any general tips/ideas are appreciated
Old 03-17-2011, 07:11 PM

Just relized I posted this in the OEM section

Mod's please feel free to move sorry
Old 03-17-2011, 08:05 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0

i've got a 2000 model 4dr with 4.5 rough country lift. I haven't installed a transfer case drop or anything and have no vibes. it differs per xj but you should be okay with a little lift. And for the most part its not the front axle that causes the vibrations and problems, its the drive shaft for the rear axle. The front does well as long as everything is good and tight and the bushings aren't worn out.
Old 03-17-2011, 09:35 PM

Year: 2000
Engine: 6 in a row makes it go

Originally Posted by dar83