Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

rough idle please help?!?!?!?!?

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2010, 10:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default rough idle please help?!?!?!?!?

hey guys, I need some help. My 96 4.0 is idling rough. The CEL light came on, so I went into Autozone. They said it needed Plugs and wires and I also needed to clean the Mass Airflow Sensor. I did what they said....New Plugs, new wires and cleaned the MAF. It still is Idling rough. When I get on it, she gets up and go, but when I slow down to 30ish mph she runs rough and jerks. What else could it be? I am new to the 4.0 so please help me out.

OH......I did put a Rusty's off road cold air intake on it. It started doing this after I put it on. I have since gone BACK to the Stock intake.

Thanks Guys!
Old 11-27-2010, 11:04 AM

Oh it also took me 1/2 a tank of gas to go 70 miles!!!
Old 11-27-2010, 11:58 AM

sounds like u have a loose rocker arm do u hear a light tapping noose or feel a puls in ur break pedal.or it could be ur throttle positiong sencer or both hope this helps
Old 11-27-2010, 12:47 PM
CF Veteran

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Year: 1989 xj sport 2dr
Engine: 12 hole bosch Injectors

did you clean the iac and the hole it mounts in
Old 11-28-2010, 11:03 AM

no tapping.....whats the iac???
Old 11-28-2010, 02:08 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0 L

IAC = Idle Air Control Valve.
I am new to jeeps and unsure of what models have what but if yours has an IAC Valve it would be mounted on the throttle body and will have an electrical connector going to it.

You of course will not see the pintle end of the installed IAC valve which is the goldish colored part of the IAC valve.
Attached Images    
Old 11-28-2010, 04:52 PM
CF Veteran

Received 99 Likes on 88 Posts