Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Relacement battery tray questions..

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2012, 07:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L 6 cyl.
Default Relacement battery tray questions..

Hi all. First off I have a 2000 Sport that I am trying to bring up to speed. I cracked the battery tray taking the bolts out and need to replace it. I'm just curious if I can use the replacement one at autozone or do I need the own tray because of the sensor? Mind you I'm only asking because I'm really new at this stuff. Thanks in advance.
Old 01-13-2012, 08:01 PM

It was supposed to say "or do I have to get the oem tray??". Damn autocorrect
Old 01-13-2012, 11:31 PM

Year: 1998
Engine: 242 I6

Originally Posted by Mellis67
Hi all. First off I have a 2000 Sport that I am trying to bring up to speed. I cracked the battery tray taking the bolts out and need to replace it. I'm just curious if I can use the replacement one at autozone or do I need the own tray because of the sensor? Mind you I'm only asking because I'm really new at this stuff. Thanks in advance.
I'd say make one up, or if it's fixable try to plastic weld it.

If not go to the jy and rip one out from a '97-'01

V/r,
-Gray.
Old 01-14-2012, 01:06 AM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1989
Engine: 4.0L I6

Max from Dirtbound Offroad is supposed to be making an XJ-specific battery tray soon. Otherwise, balisticfab makes a universal tray
Old 01-14-2012, 02:16 AM
kjc
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1993
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L Laredo
Default Just curious

I was wondering what the H a sensor on the battery tray would do. Google showed me this..