Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Rebuild or Buy? Opinions wanted

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2010, 06:21 PM
CF Veteran

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Year: 1991
Model: Cherokee
Engine: I-6 4.0 HO
Default Rebuild or Buy? Opinions wanted

I want to get a new 4.0 for my 91 XJ. Mine has almost 200k miles, still runs great (mostly ) but I want to have a rebuilt one ready when this one decides to depart for Jeep heaven. My question is this..

1) Should I just save up, and order a new enginer from Jaspers or somewhere like that?

or

2) Should I go to the local Junk Yard, grab a 4.0, and rebuild it?

I am a novice mechanic at best, however I have an uncle who knows cars left and right I can get help from. And I have a Haynes Manual and can usually put something together if the instructions are in front of me.

If people suggest grabbing one from the JY, should I get a 91 4.0 or try to grab a later year 4.0?

Thanks for the input everyone
Old 06-18-2010, 06:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1987
Engine: 4.0

You have two problems with that question, 1 most places that sell engines are going to require a core block and can charge 250 or more for that core so if its going to sit around just waiting for the other to blow up it's going to cost you.

2.junck yard engines you need to make sure it turns over through all the pistons revolutions. If not it could cost you a lot of money in a crank or rods, The main prob is it could have a cracked head an sometimes you cant tell untill it goes to the rebuild shop and the magna flux it for cracks.

3. also unless you have a shop rebuild it for you and surface the head and block and do a complete head job, your not really in your garage going to get the reliable of a rebuild doing it yourself.