Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Manifold Removal?

Old 06-18-2010, 11:13 PM
CF Veteran

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 1991
Model: Cherokee
Engine: I-6 4.0 HO
Default Manifold Removal?

I'm gonna come straight out and say that I am a novice mechanic.. Im not totally lost, but Im not the best. I have a cracked header, and the mechanic wants to charge me around $200 to weld it and put it all together. I can't afford this. I was looking into getting on of those APN headers. Lifetime warranty, heard good things about it. Anyway, I have a few questions..

Being a novice, in your alls honest opinion, do you think I could manage pulling my manifolds off so I can clean the ports, clean the intake manifold (I dont want to disassemble the whole intake.. just basically move it from the side to the top while I work) and also degrease the engine. I can follow instructions and have a Haynes manual, but I think it only refers to RENIX XJ's or something.. So what do you all think? And has anyone used the APN header? Any comments on it??

Thanks for all the help everyone.
Old 06-18-2010, 11:39 PM
CF Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Engine: I6