Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Rear differential Leak

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2010, 09:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Default Rear differential Leak

1st post! but anyways i got a 2000 cherokee sport and there is a leak on the rear differential. i'm a rookie mechanic so does anyone have any suggestions of how to go about fixing this? any help would be appreciated
Old 10-25-2010, 09:14 PM

remove diff cover.. catch oil in pan. remove old gasket material.. coat mating surface with high temp oil resistant rtv. spread evenly. re install diff cover. fill with oil
Old 10-25-2010, 09:15 PM

Engine: 4.0

Diff fluid change. Basically gotta pull it off and reseal it with luquid gasket. Its a straight forward job. Taking the diff cover off is the hardest part
Old 10-25-2010, 11:08 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1993
Engine: 4.0

What part of the differential is the leak on? If its around the cover then yes you will need to take it off and do as they said above. If its leaking where the drive shaft goes in to the differential then its the pinion seal.
The following users liked this post:
outlawangel99 (06-29-2023)
Old 10-25-2010, 11:09 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L

I did this recently, the hardest part is taking off the dif cover, it can be a *****. But anyway, you can use rtv (room-temp-vulcanizing) sealant, or a gasket because they make gaskets for the 8.25 (which I think 2000 has) still. Use a chisel to get the gunk off the mating surfaces and put it all back together. 75-90 gear oil.
P.S- Haynes has this outlined too.
wait--- is it a leak from the cover? might be a pinion seal if it's coming out of where the shaft goes in..
Old 10-29-2010, 05:57 PM

Originally Posted by Turkey Hunter