Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Radiator Drain Plug open but no flow

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2012, 12:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L 6 cyl.
Default Radiator Drain Plug open but no flow

I'm trying to do a coolant flush in my 2000 Cherokee 4.0 . This is my first flush and my Cherokee's first I believe. I am really new to doing my own service but I have found this site very helpful. My bolts for the airbox were pretty well rusted so I opted for draining via the radiator drain plug rather than the lower radiator hose like a lot of people suggest. I turned the petcock a quater of a turn and it seemed to stop but I get no flow out of it. Does it take more than a quarter of a turn to open it? Could it be plugged? My coolant is very nasty and it seems to be gelled just under the radiator cap. I have no problems with overheating or leaking I just wanted to do the service before problems develop. Any ideas what I can do to get this flowing? Or should I give up on the drain and find another to empty the system?
Old 01-19-2012, 12:55 PM
CF Veteran

Received 99 Likes on 88 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

First flush on a 2000 is waaaaaayy too long of an interval. How about other fluids like transmission, transfer case, differentials? Should not ignore fluids as they are the "lifeblood" of your engine. Especially cooling system maintenance on a 2000, which has the 0331 head, which doesn't need a lot of encouragement to crack.

Not sure if I'm understanding you as the lower hose should absolutely be accessible, even if you have to move the rubber splash shroud a bit.