Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.
Old 09-21-2015, 01:57 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Powertrain: Engine Diagnostics
Print Wikipost

Problems with AC? (It blows cold but not cold enough)

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2012, 06:36 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Problems with AC? (It blows cold but not cold enough)

I'm relatively new to Jeeps. I own a 2000 Jeep Cherokee with 20k miles on a completely remanufactured motor.

The AC in my Jeep works. I know this because every time you turn it on the compressor engages and you can definitely feel cold air coming out of the vents. One thing that is leaving me puzzled though is lately it's been around 97 degrees every day and I notice that while the AC does blow much colder air than it is outside, it doesn't seem like it's as cold as it should be.

I've owned many cars in the past and on all of them the AC blew much, much colder air than the Jeep does.

I went to my local auto parts store and bought some R134a refrigerant which came with a pressure gauge to test the pressure of the AC system. The AC system was a tiny bit low on refrigerant but not by much at all. I filled it up to where it needed to be and the pressure on the system (according to the gauge) is right where it should be.

Needless to say the AC still doesn't blow as cold as I feel it should. I'm not sure what temperature the AC is supposed to blow at on the coldest setting, but if I had to guess I would say the coldest mine ever blows when I'm moving down the highway is about 74 degrees.

Like I said, it's definitely blowing much colder air than the air outside, but it seems like it should be blowing much colder than it is.