Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Possible transmission issues

Old 05-03-2014, 10:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0l inline 6 stock
Default Possible transmission issues

Not sure of these symptoms. Drove my Jeep aprox 10 miles before I started shooting a large white cloud. The Jeep following me said it smelled like burning oil. Pulled over and had a large tranny fluid leak from around the engine oil pan, the tranny oil pan, and the near by areas. Hard to pin point the exact location due to the fluid being pushed back by the force of the wind at speeds.

Drove my Jeep back 10miles to my house. No white cloud. No leak(that I could tell). Everything seemed fine.

I'll post pictures ASAFP.
Old 05-03-2014, 01:23 PM

If it was me. I would wash everything off. Top of all fluids. After it dries drive for a mile or two. Stop and check. Repeat until you find a leak. If trans fluid was on the oil pan I would guess trans cooler lines. Maybe leak on trans cooler part of radiator. Or trans was over full and frothed out the dipstick Tube.
Old 05-03-2014, 01:44 PM

So these are the pictures I got. It's hard to tell being the pictures are off my phone, but hopefully you can make something out.
Attached Thumbnails Possible transmission issues-image-2275607718.jpg   Possible transmission issues-image-859806980.jpg   Possible transmission issues-image-3316495561.jpg   Possible transmission issues-image-3482020713.jpg  
Old 05-13-2014, 10:31 PM

Default Same here

Did you find the problem with the leak? I just bought a 1995 Cherokee yesterday and I had the exact same thing happen to me today. It spit out black fluid everywhere. I topped it off and drove 10 miles home with no leak.