Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Please educate me on how to use 4X4 properly

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2008, 04:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: I6
Default Please educate me on how to use 4X4 properly

Sorry for the dumb question as I am a newbie to the 4X4 world.

I got my jeep fairly cheap ($2000 including the cost to overhaul the rear differential). So something is missing which is the owners manual. Please instruct how to use 4X4 properly. To be more specific,

Under what road condition, I should use 4H or 4L?
Thanks.
Old 11-17-2008, 04:49 PM

Year: 1993
Engine: 4.0

90% of the time, if You are on the road You don't need 4WD at all. Exception would be snow where 4WD HI might be handy. LO is for offroad situations such as Hill climbing and serious mud where pulling power needs to be maximized.
Old 11-17-2008, 04:49 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1991
Engine: 4.0

ok, it depends on wut transfer case you have but in general you can either do it in nuetral and pull it back into wut you wanna use, or on the fly i think, and 4lo is a 2.72:1 ratio for when you need that lowend torque like when your on the trails, 4hi is a 1:1 gear ratio and it is good for in snow and icey conditions
Old 11-17-2008, 04:56 PM

Default Thanks for the reply

So I can use 4H on the paved road, even highway. What is the Top speed I can go with 4H.
Old 11-17-2008, 05:00 PM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1987
Model: Comanche
Engine: I6 4.0L

No do not use 4hi on a road unless it is icy of loose gravel and you can go up to 55mph in 4hi
Old 11-17-2008, 05:03 PM

Year: 92
Engine: 4.0L HO

Originally Posted by antibiotics
So I can use 4H on the paved road, even highway. What is the Top speed I can go with 4H.