Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

People must think I'm a two-footed driver.

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2016, 05:20 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default People must think I'm a two-footed driver.

On the way to work this morning I just do happened to look in my rearview and noticed my brake lights were shining off my rear tire carrier. Thought it was odd so I tapped the brakes to see if it got brighter and they did but only by a little. When I got to work I got out while it was still running and yep, my brake lights are stuck on. So my first thought is it's probably the brake pedal switch. But here's the thing. When I turned my headlights off, they went off and functioned normally. I cycled my headlights on and off a few times and the brake lights came on still. Even my third brake light at the top of the rear hatch is on. So, should I be looking at something being shorted? I read a thread on XJTalk where a guy had his brake pedal switch need adjusting and his gas mileage was going down as well. Turns out he found his torque converter was disengaging due to the switch needing adjusting. Sticking his foot under the pedal and bringing it back would cause it to engage normally. He could also tell by the RPMs it was running. I tried this while I was still on the way to work before I searched anything and that doesn't seem to be the case for me. Didn't notice them go out when I tried this either. As of now they are off so I won't have to worry about my battery running down. They only stay one when my headlight switch is on. Sound like a short somewhere to you guys?
Old 02-26-2016, 05:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995,1997

Check your rear bulbs, (see if a filament is touching inside). Also if you have trailer wiring see if its rubbed and shorting.