Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Passenger floorboard Rust...

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2012, 08:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 I6
Default Passenger floorboard Rust...

Hey all...jeep noob here. Just recently picked up a 97 Country with 157K on it. I know there are a lot of threads on here about rusted floorboards, and most of the ones I have seen are really bad...compared to what I am dealing with. I've got about a 8" x 4" section of scaly rust just inside the door sill. This is the nasty, agressive rust...I poked it a few times with my finger and made a small hole thru.

It appears the water has been coming in around the lower forward corner of the passenger side door opening. It's getting by the weatherstripping that is compressed and worn out.

So I have two questions:

1. How would you "experts" fix this? I've contemplated welding on a patch or laying up a fiberglass patch after i've cleaned everything up...what do you guys/gals say?

2. Is there anything I can do to stop the leak short of replacing the weatherstrip around the door?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Old 07-11-2012, 08:54 AM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 1991
Engine: 4.0

1. How would you "experts" fix this? I've contemplated welding on a patch or laying up a fiberglass patch after i've cleaned everything up...what do you guys/gals say? I my self would cut out the rusted area, and weld in a new floor board. or it will just keep rusting.

2. Is there anything I can do to stop the leak short of replacing the weatherstrip around the door? Replace the weather strip. http://www.jeep4x4center.com/jeep-do...therstrips.htm
Old 07-11-2012, 09:27 AM

Thx for the quick reply!