Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Overheating issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2017, 06:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L
Default Overheating issue

This is my first time posting so go easy on me. I know there are a million forums about cherokee overheating but I couldn't find one that matched perfectly with my issues. So I have a 1986 jeep comanche with a 96 cherokee 4.0 HO in it. One day there was a weird noise coming from under the hood and I couldn't pin point it so I brought it in to pep boys. Worst decision ever made. They screwed up my electric fans and the latch on my hood so I ended up having to buy new fans and a new latch and redo the whole upper radiator support. Finally finished it. Took it for a drive and the gauge said it was overheating. I do believe it was overheating before I took it it and everything but can't remember. Anyway, I replaced the thermostat and it stopped for a day. Then the next day it started again. I flushed the cooling system. Still overheats. Replaced the coolant sensor. Still overheated. Finally replaced the water pump and is still overheating. The day after I replaced it there was a leak of coolant where the waterpump is but it didn't look like it was the waterpump. I cleaned it all up and the leak stopped. I know it wasnt left over coolant from changing the pump. It was a fresh leak. Ever since, I haven't seen any leaks but it still overheats. All that's left to possibly change is the radiator itself and the head gasket. I will mention that the e fans I have set up right now are pushing air into the rad not pulling. It was all I could do at the moment. The fans didn't clear and would hit the pulleys as pull fans. I know it's not ideal but could that be the problem? I checked all the hoses. No leaks. I had the heat running on max and i