Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

New member! Rear axle concern?!

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2010, 05:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 L
Default New member! Rear axle concern?!

Hey everyone, I'm new here, I'm just getting into the Jeep scene, bought a 99 Cherokee sport 4.0L auto. And here is the deal.

First off, I bought the thing from my friends Neighbor for dirt cheap. It's got about 182,xxx on the engine, trans, and chassis. It's got the typical XJ rocker rust / rot, and the floor pan has a nice solid hole in it [IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/User/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/msohtml1/01/clip_image001.gif[/IMG] BUT, the thing runs and drives. I paid $650 for the dam thing. So it was pretty much worth it to me no matter what else I needed to put into it.

The first thing I noticed when I test drove it, is that the front wheels seemed to skip while turning (or so I THOUGHT it was the front wheels at the time). So after buying the thing, I replaced the front axle U joints, which were COMPLETELY shot. Figured this would solve the problem. But it still did it. After a few simple tests and diagnostic procedures, it appears that while turning, it's actually the rear end that is causing this skip. As if the rear diff. isn't doing what it's exactly supposed to. Here's the catch though, it's a very odd intermittent problem. Because sometimes it will only occur after I put it into (any) 4wd engagement. but then when I put it back into 2 wheel, it still does it (yes, even after the transfer case FULLY disengages the front wheels). This leads me to think that it's NOT a 4wd specific concern though. And here is the other weird thing. When I'm turning and it's skipping, a way to make it stop doing it, is to spin the rear tires while going straight.