Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

My First Jeep!! Need advice!

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2010, 09:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 V6
Cool My First Jeep!! Need advice!

I just bought a 1998 Jeep Cherokee Limited (black with grey leather interior)

The thing is in good shape, runs and drives awesome. I've always wanted a jeep!

It has 170,000 miles and so it has some little stuff to do on it and I need help prioritizing about what I should do first. I can do limited repairs as I am just learning and I have a good mechanic that I work with who does more serious repairs. So any advice on what to do first and whether to try it myself or take it in.

I just bought new tires for the front (back ones were newer (235's) and got an alignment, drives smooth.

I also replaced valve cover gasket (was seeping at back left corner)

Here are the things that it needs.

1. power steering pump hose is leaking

2. catalytic converter is shot, in bad shape, and needs replaced

3. rear and front differential are leaking very small amount (could be seal or plug?)

4. radiator has dirty fluid, when I took the cap off the top and stuck my finger in there was a bunch of the sand / stop leak junk in there, radiator may need replaced, i'm afraid to even flush it!

5. hood needs repainted, sun spots and some peeling (should I do some hood vents or scoop to help release some of the heat?)

6. rear universal joint makes small clunk every so often when accelerating from a stop (maybe once a week or so I hear it)

7. Slight anti-freeze smell when running the heat, maybe heater core replacement? going into spring and summer I can probably put this off until fall but I noticed a slight fog on the windows the other morning.