Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Just bought a 1990 Jeep, quite a few small-large problems. Help?

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2011, 10:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Just bought a 1990 Jeep, quite a few small-large problems. Help?

So I picked up a 1990 Jeep Cherokee Loredo for $850 from a middle aged woman who was just wanting to dump it (needed cash). I needed something 4x4 for the winter so I jumped on it. Unfortunatly it didnt seem like she took the best car of it, although it did run. So Im sorry if this is a semi-long read but I had a few questions so I can get to the repairs. Im a learn by doing mechanic, lol (built a 2002 WRX and am currently building a 1994 Integra LS/VTEC).

PROBLEM 1:
During my test drive of the car it started perfectally fine everytime except once. We had been driving it for about an hour and when I went to start it it would crank and crank but wouldnt turn over. The woman told me that something under the hood gets overheated sometimes and needs to cool down. We popped the hood and she pointed out these 4 little black squares on the passenger side of the engine bay. She just pressed down on them and it started the next try. A friend of mine told me they are some sort of relays and you use a special tool to pull out a fuse type peice and replace them. What are these, would they have been causing my problem and how to fix?

PROBLEM 2: