Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Jeep Questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2010, 11:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Jeep Questions

Hello im new to the whole off road thing. Im going to be a soph. in highschool this year. I don't have a Jeep yet but will be getting a Cherokee. I amgoing to put a lift on it when I have money. I won't be doing hard to any wheeling, i just want a lift in case i do some. Would one of these two rusty's kits work? I will be on a really tight budget. The reason I am thinking of one of these kits is the wheels and tires come with them and save me the headache of look for some and cause they aren't too expensive.

http://rustysoffroad.com/mm5/merchan..._Code=WHEELS10

http://rustysoffroad.com/mm5/merchan..._Code=WHEELS10
Old 07-29-2010, 12:06 PM

Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0 6 cylinder

well if its only going to be a weekend warrior IMO you dont need a 6.5...and with the 4.5 your going to want to factor an sye into your budget....but back to your original question rustys sells decent kits everyone i know that runs them like them....but id keep your options open
Old 07-29-2010, 01:27 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1996

First and foremost, welcome to the forum.

If you're on a budget, I'd recommend finding a jeep club. I don't know what is in your area, but there are some pretty cool folk on this forum from Iowa, so introduce yourself on the wheeling neighborhood secion and see if others can help with advice and maybe even parts.

If you're really on a tight budget and you're not going to wheel, I'd recommend a 3" lif. You can run 31s and many here have very capable rigs at that elevation. a 3" lift is also cheaper and it looks great.

s
Old 07-29-2010, 01:32 PM
CF Veteran

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Year: 87
Model: Wagoneer
Engine: 4.0 I6