Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

I need advice. My suspension has seen better days.

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2016, 06:56 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default I need advice. My suspension has seen better days.

Backstory:
Before I start, I'm new to this forum and at 18 years old, I'm new to working on cars too. I don't know as much as I should, so bear with me please. I've searched this forum and haven't found the answers to my questions exactly when it comes to this. I just bought my 2000 with 152k miles. I replaced the rocker panels and passenger side floor so now It has very minor visible rust. (My Jeep lives in Vermont). The jeep runs awesome and the previous owner only ran synthetic (which I'll be switching over to a high mileage blend most likely. That's a topic I've read enough about on here). Its leaking a bit of oil (from valve cover) but I bought a new valve cover gasket and ccv elbows/grommets which hopefully does the trick. I fixed the wires in the door jams and all(most) of my electrical system works now. Other than that, it has given me no real problems so far. But I've only owned it for a bit longer than month.
Questions:
My leaf springs are slightly inverted so I know I need to replace those. Does this mean I need to replace my coil springs and shock absorbers? Jeeps drive rough, I know this. but mine sounds like it's taking a real beating going over cracks/bumps in the road.

(This is where I don't know my parts very well) My bushings and ball joints seem like they all need replacing. I'll post some pics.

If I get myself into a job like this, what else should I expect to replace? I assume from the condition of my suspension, nothing's already been replaced or it's been awhile. I know with leaf springs comes u-joints and shackles but that's about all I know.