Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

How to mount lights, I'm very new to this

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2010, 11:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee
Default How to mount lights, I'm very new to this

So i bought some Baja lights today so i can have some extra light at a cheap price. I'm lost on how to mount or wire them though. I want to put them on my front stock bumper in the pre drilled holes.

I have no idea how to get to the other side of the hole to add the washer and blot though??? Do i need to remove the entire front bumper first?

Im also a little lost on wiring, I understand I need one wire going from the battery to the back of the switch, and one going from the lights to the switch, and a third that connects the 2 lights.

This kit did not come with a relay and I honestly don't know where a relay would go if I bought one or how important they are.

lastly when i mount the switch inside the dash do i just drill small holes or do i have to cut out a piece of plastic the size of the switch?

I know this is alot and i probably sound like a complete idiot but if there is any help you can give it would be greatly appreciated!
Old 05-01-2010, 11:50 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0

If you have small hands/arms you can reach up from behind and get to the bottom of those holes. Its PITA, but possible. Thats how I did mine.
I recommend a relay, when I put my relay in my lights got alot brighter. It is also safer.
I cut out a piece the size of the switch and surface mounted it, Its kinda by where my left knee would be on the bottom panel.
Old 05-01-2010, 11:56 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts