Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

High voltage when driving

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2015, 11:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: Straight 6 4.0
Default High voltage when driving

My wife called me this morning and said our recently bought 2000 jeep cherokee was running 19 volts on the gauge while driving..... she said when she came to a stop the volts would go back to normal... she stated has she started driving again the volts would go back to 19.... im new to jeeps but not turning wrenches.... i was wondering if you guy could lead me in the right direction??? i did alittle research and found something about the voltage regulator in the pcm.... new pcm is stupid expensive and wanted to get some advice before spending 800 plus dollars... can yall help me out???? thanks
Old 12-02-2015, 12:22 PM

Year: 1988
Model: Comanche
Engine: 4.0L w/Renix

What engine do you have....4 cylinder or 6 cylinder?
Can you read the name on the Alternator? Post a picture?

First thing you need to do is check the actual voltage at the battery with a volt meter.

Auto Zone or Advance Auto will check your alternator for free if you can't manage it.
Old 12-02-2015, 12:38 PM
CF Veteran

Received 82 Likes on 67 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by billzfan88