Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

High idle speed when warm; IAC, TPS or what?

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2011, 01:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee
Engine: L6 242cid FI I-6
Default High idle speed when warm; IAC, TPS or what?

Hey all, I'm new to CF but not to Jeeps. I'd like to say that I'm coming here to ask ya'll what tires I should upgrade to, or what lights are the best, but I have a more serious problem. I have a high idle speed, but only when the engine is warm and has been driven for a while (5-10 minutes~). I have done some research here, and found another who had the same problem, and his turned out to be his IAC and TPS were out of whack.
https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f2/ren...-still-106800/
I'd really like some honest advice into how I can fix this.

I can read schematics (and understand them) for a $1.5 million wind turbine, but schematics for the RENIX engines baffle me.
Old 10-31-2011, 05:05 PM
::CF Moderator::

Received 1,526 Likes on 1,238 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0

RENIX TPS ADJUSTMENT
Before attempting to adjust your TPS be sure the throttle body has been recently cleaned.
It's especially important that the edges of the throttle butterfly are free of any carbon build-up.
IMPORTANT NOTE: Using the positive (red) lead of your ohmmeter, probe the B terminal of the flat 3 wire connector
of the TPS . The letters are embossed on the connector itself.
Touch the black lead of your meter to the negative battery post.
If you see more than 1 ohm of resistance some modifications to the sensor ground harness will be
necessary. The harness repair must be performed before proceeding.
I can provide an instruction sheet for that if needed.
MANUAL TRANSMISSION:
RENIX manual transmission equipped XJs have a three-wire TPS mounted on the throttle body.