Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Head Bolts Overtorqued. Need Help!

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2017, 09:12 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Model: Cherokee
Default Head Bolts Overtorqued. Need Help!

So I pulled a complete noob move and misread my torque wrench(not digital) and overtorqued my head bolts by 20lbs. Can I back them off and torque them to the correct specs or do I need to pull the head and replace the gasket?

Thanks in advance.
Old 08-20-2017, 01:22 AM
CF Veteran

Received 277 Likes on 243 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L

Have you run the engine yet ?
Old 08-20-2017, 05:53 AM
CF Veteran

Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
Year: 1997
Engine: 4.0

i predict this will reach heights rivaling the "which oil" threads. you will most likely get varying answers. i'm curious to see what cruiser says, as i know he has been there with these engines and experienced both sides.

the gasket will be fine assuming it hasn't been heat cycled. retorqueing the bolts will be a judgement call. we're going to hear all about jeeps special tty hybrid bolt for the 4.0 and its limit of 2 uses.

to be 100% safe you'd be in another $100? maybe. bolts and gasket. steel head and block i highly doubt incurred any damage. over tightening will run the risks of warping/cracking the head, block thread damage, gasket damage and or bolt damage leading to imminent failure.

honestly, if it were mine, i would run it. assuming proper tq sequence and no iffy torqueings. only reason being - ive done and witnessed much worse on several other engines with no repercussions.
Old 08-20-2017, 06:49 AM