Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Front locker

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2010, 02:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Front locker

Hey guys I am new to your threads.

I just got my hands on an 2001 XJ. I got rid of my wrangler and I love my cherokee.

My question is I am going a little mild. I put 3.5" lift rubicon express and running 31s. The cherokee has a stock limited slip in the rear. I am thinking about putting a powertrax no-slip in the front. Do any of you have experience with powertrax and how the vehicle will handle on snowy roads?

The cherokee does great in the snow with the limited slip in the rear. The only time I need 4 wheel drive is off road or slow speeds in the snow.

I just don't want to make the cherokee dangerous in the snow because the wife drives it.

thanks
Tony
Old 01-01-2010, 04:22 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1994
Engine: 4.0 H.O. K&N, Borla headers, custom down pipe, magnaflow hi-flo cat, flowmaster to turn down tip

your best bet for the snow is a limited slip up front. i have a Detroit Tru-trac gear actuated front limited slip which means no clutches inside and not re-build needed unless it breaks! works great in the mud and snow
Old 01-01-2010, 04:43 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1987
Engine: 4.0 liter RENIX I-6, DIY Cold Air Intake, 2.5 FM Exhaust, 3 Core Radiator