Front bumper removal - Jeep Cherokee Forum
Jeep Cherokee Forum


OEM XJ Cherokee Technical. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here
XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

     
Old 09-10-2015, 02:32 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
 
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Exterior
Print Wikipost

Front bumper removal

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2011, 10:33 PM   #1
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
OOdynamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: York PA/State College PA
Posts: 2,412

View OOdynamite's Photo Album My Photos
Default Front bumper removal

In the maintenance manual it says that you have to remove the bumper endcaps to remove the bumper, is that true? Also I want to remove the bumper mounting brackets from the frame, the manual says I have to remove the bumper first, then the mounting brackets. Is that true? Thanks
OOdynamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 10:36 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 29

View mxracer420's Photo Album My Photos
Default

bump
mxracer420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 12:41 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Cnwxj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 596

View Cnwxj's Photo Album My Photos
Default

You have to remove the caps to get at the bracket bolts. Easy enough to remove the bumper 6 bolts and 2 screws and it's off.
Cnwxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 11:42 AM   #4
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
OOdynamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: York PA/State College PA
Posts: 2,412

View OOdynamite's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cnwxj View Post
You have to remove the caps to get at the bracket bolts. Easy enough to remove the bumper 6 bolts and 2 screws and it's off.
Ok cool, and are there specific torque settings for putting the bolts back on? I wouldn't think so cuz its just the bumper and not like the engine. Thanks
OOdynamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 05:05 PM   #5
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
OOdynamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: York PA/State College PA
Posts: 2,412

View OOdynamite's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Bump
OOdynamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 08:09 PM   #6
CF Veteran
 
gpXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Grand Prairie, Texas
Posts: 1,142

View gpXJ's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OOdynamite View Post
Ok cool, and are there specific torque settings for putting the bolts back on? I wouldn't think so cuz its just the bumper and not like the engine. Thanks

2 grunts and a groan. Just stop before you break off the weld nuts inside the frame rail
gpXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 08:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ohio
Posts: 575

View plowboy 99's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I think tight is tight and would be fine on the bumper without an exact torque.
plowboy 99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 10:04 PM   #8
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
OOdynamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: York PA/State College PA
Posts: 2,412

View OOdynamite's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpXJ

2 grunts and a groan. Just stop before you break off the weld nuts inside the frame rail
Oh god, are they prone to breaking when you remove them?
OOdynamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 12:37 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
zjrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tooele, UT
Posts: 578

View zjrog's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Some can, depending on rust conditions where you live or where the Jeep lived before you got it...
zjrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 02:02 PM   #10
CF Veteran
 
gpXJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Grand Prairie, Texas
Posts: 1,142

View gpXJ's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Some of mine did, but it's no problem. You can easily put a nut on the other side and use a new bolt.
gpXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 02:11 PM   #11
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
OOdynamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: York PA/State College PA
Posts: 2,412

View OOdynamite's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpXJ View Post
Some of mine did, but it's no problem. You can easily put a nut on the other side and use a new bolt.
Ok and if they do break, will the rest of the bolt thats inside the frame rail just fall out?
OOdynamite is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There goes the neighborhood... KyMoonshine Introductions 5 07-23-2017 02:04 PM
The Transfer Case SixShooterXJCherokee OEM XJ Cherokee Technical. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here 9 08-30-2015 08:06 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description: