Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

fan help please!

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2008, 12:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0HO
Default fan help please!

on my 92 xj how do i wire the electric fan to a toggle switch so i can turn it on when i want and can i do this without a relay? also can i run the switch and still leave the fan hooked up so that it comes on like it is suppose to in case i forget to turn the switch on? im new to this btw. any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.
Old 12-02-2008, 12:48 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: Gone but not forgotten
Engine: 4.0

On the driver side you will have one or two relays above the air box . One will have an orange wire on it . you can use that to tie into and still have a computer controlled fan with a manual override. You also are useing the factory relay.
Old 12-02-2008, 01:02 PM

Year: 98
Engine: 4L

to clarify, are you talking about a primary electric fan or aux? does your jeep have a belt driven fan?
Old 12-02-2008, 09:27 PM

Originally Posted by RenoXJ
to clarify, are you talking about a primary electric fan or aux? does your jeep have a belt driven fan?
its got a clutch belt driven fan and a aux fan. the aux fan takes to long to come on in my opinion so i want to be able to control it when im wheelin or sitting at mcdonalds drive thru.lol
Old 12-02-2008, 09:30 PM

Originally Posted by xj4life2
On the driver side you will have one or two relays above the air box . One will have an orange wire on it . you can use that to tie into and still have a computer controlled fan with a manual override. You also are useing the factory relay.
thanks man. i dont have a book for it and im not much of a wiring wizzerd.
Old 12-02-2008, 09:32 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1987
Engine: 4.0L