Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Engine Sound 4.0L '00

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2017, 05:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6 Power Tech Engine
Default Engine Sound 4.0L '00

Hey folks,

Just passed CA smog in my '00 today!! However, i've had this noise coming from the engine that I would like to have some second opinions on. I have no experience working with engine internals, but I may be able to do whatever needs to be done myself. Take a listen and let me know what you think it could be. Sounds like some lifter ticking to me, although not as bad as i've seen around.

I forgot to rev the engine in this video, but when I rev up after a cold start I hear a rattle (bearing?)

Thanks in advance.

Old 02-25-2017, 08:55 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Engine: 6 cylinder

Listened to the video twice and i can't hear any knocking or ticking to be concerned about. But then again my hearing is shot.

Sounds like a normal clanky 176k+ mile 4.0 to me.
Maybe someone else can hear what you're hearing.

Try stethoscoping to pin point the noise you hear.
Old 02-26-2017, 06:07 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 33 Likes on 27 Posts
Year: 1998
Engine: I6 4.0L

Sounds normal to me as well. 4.0s are not the quietest of engines...

If anything I hear a tiny amount of valve train noise which shouldn't be a big worry. Sticky lifters might click for a little on a cold morning start as well. A cracked exhaust header can also click/chug but I've never experience that so can't comment further.

The #1 rule of XJ ownership is learning how to determine a happy noise from a sad noise. 'Cause you're gonna get noise regardless!
Old 02-26-2017, 09:23 PM
CF Veteran

Received 333 Likes on 277 Posts
Year: 1997
Engine: 4.0L