Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Electric Window and Heating Problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2013, 04:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Electric Window and Heating Problems

Hi all,

I have had my Cherokee Orvis for 11 months now and I must say as a Jeep Newbie here in the UK it was a fantastic buy, mint condition outside and in mechanically sound and past its MOT test with no problems.

I love this vehicle because I can pretty much do all the work myself, just replaced front shocks, brake disks, pads, roll bar bushes and gave it a full service.

I now have two things which I am trying to fix:

1. The front passenger electric window (mine is a right hand drive) started to be intermittent from both drivers switch and passengers switch and it has now failed completely. Other than the fuse (checked) are there any other common problems as there doesn't seem to be any power getting to the motor? (had the door skin off already) the power lock is still working fine.

2. The aircon and fan are working fine bu the switch to change from the front vents, floor vents etc is not working air only comes from the windscreen vents. Any suggestions as to common faults here.

Appreciate any advice, Jeep Newbie in Southampton UK
Old 06-04-2013, 10:55 AM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1998 Sport
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by Iain_Jeep_UK
Hi all,

I have had my Cherokee Orvis for 11 months now and I must say as a Jeep Newbie here in the UK it was a fantastic buy, mint condition outside and in mechanically sound and past its MOT test with no problems.

I love this vehicle because I can pretty much do all the work myself, just replaced front shocks, brake disks, pads, roll bar bushes and gave it a full service.

I now have two things which I am trying to fix: