Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Couple questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2011, 08:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Couple questions

Newbie here, have had a 91 Laredo for over a year now. I've got a couple questions, figured I'd put them all in one thread than spread them out. Some of the things I've do so far:

Full tuneup
Stereo replaced, all speakers replaced, amp+sub setup
Removed the abs brake pump, it was a major leak and looked like it had been replaced already. Capped off the extraneous lines and the brake pedal feels better than ever.

I get around 12mpg with only city driving. I keep it under 2k rpm and the rest of the car is completely stock. I did a full tuneup when I got it, new distributor cap, wires, plugs, filters, oil change. Shoulda seen the plugs that came out! Two were completely touching and 3 of the other four looked like a cave with the corrosion growing from the strap and the electrode. I was surprised it even ran! Is my mpg around where it should be? Any tips/tricks? I've also taken out the restrictor in the airbox.

I've got a hell of a vibration at 63mph. It's there about 60% of the time. Some times I can do 70 and not a single shake. What is this more likely to be, tie rod ends, sway bar links, etc?

How hard is it to replace the front knuckle u-joints in the axle? Mine click pretty bad.

Sometimes the upper console's temp display works (and when it works, it's a 50/50 shot if it shows the right temp or -60*) and sometimes it doesn't. Is this a loose wire or a sensor I can replace?

Last edited by mechacode; 06-23-2011 at 08:35 PM.
Old 06-23-2011, 08:24 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1994
Engine: 5.2

Where u from? This thread will most likely be deleted unless u remove the cat thing. It is illegal in all of usa to remove the cat converter.