Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Couple of Questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2012, 05:52 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1988
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0
Default Couple of Questions

I just recently picked up an 89 Wagoneer 4.0 auto, and have run into a few problems I would love help or advice with.

1. Popping/klunking type of sound from the front end when turning at slow speeds. I looked over the various components today and noticed one thing that stood out to me. The tie rod/central steering link, I'm able to rotate back and forwards a bit by hand with enough force, and essentially cause a pop as the ends turn over a bit where they connect to the wheel/steering knuckles. I have little experience on the suspension/steering side of mechanics so I'm not sure if this is normal or not, but I suspect not.

2. Vibration problems at around 55mph+ seems like there is a huge list of things that could cause this unfortunately. The u-joints seem decent, and actually 2 or 3 of the drive shaft ones look to have been replaced as they have grease fittings on them. Would the tie rod problem above be causing vibrations? Everything else seemed pretty tight down there, and without play. I was going to try an tighten down the trackbar more, but it actually seems like its rather difficult to access the bolts/nuts to it.

3. Seemingly slow acceleration when going past 45mph. Its like the jeep will throw you back in your seat on the low end, but it seems to take a long time to gain speed after around 45mph. I don't remember if this is just a cherokee thing or not, and I've been driving sports cars for the last 6 years so.. this problem escalates when trying to go up a decently steeped hill, hard to gain speed, hard to keep speed.